Acai bowl franchise cost 2026: Playa Bowls, Everbowl, SoBol, Nautical Bowls and Oakberry compared on verified Item 7, fees, royalty, and Item 19 medians.
Quick answer Acai bowl franchise cost runs from $65,000 for an Oakberry kiosk to $1,055,594 for a full Playa Bowls build. Playa Bowls leads the category with 342 franchised units and a $1,094,086 Item 19 median across 223 traditional outlets, with a $836,661 lower quartile. Everbowl, SoBol, and Acai Express also publish quartiles.
An acai bowl franchise costs between $65,000 and $1,055,594 to open, and the brand at the top of that range posts the highest disclosed revenue median of any concept in its competitive set, including the national smoothie chains. Ten acai and superfood bowl brands have filed FDDs we have reviewed, running roughly 700 franchised units between them, and four of them publish full quartile distributions rather than a single flattering number.
That is a materially different category than the one most buyer guides describe.
Every figure below is drawn from the brand’s most recent FDD as parsed into our database. Royalty is stated as royalty plus ad fund where both are disclosed.
| Brand | Total investment (Item 7) | Franchise fee | Royalty | Item 19 revenue | Franchised units | FDD year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Playa Bowls | $281,960 – $1,055,594 | $35,000 | 6% + 2% | $1,094,086 median (n=223) | 342 | 2026 |
| Everbowl | $208,700 – $390,950 | $39,950 | 6% + 2% | $481,923 median (n=58) | 95 | 2026 |
| Nautical Bowls | $220,200 – $439,850 | $20,000 | 6% + 2% | $357,453 average (n=41) | 70 | 2025 |
| SoBol | $195,600 – $470,700 | $35,000 | 5% + 1% | $527,800 median (n=60) | 65 | 2024 |
| Acai Express | $158,400 – $429,000 | $25,000 | 6% | $501,157 median | 38 | 2022 |
| Oakberry | $65,000 – $300,000 | $30,000 | 6% + up to 3% | No median disclosed | 24 | 2025 |
| Frutta Bowls | $329,000 – $514,750 | $35,000 | 6% + 3% | FPR disclosed (n=15) | 20 | 2026 |
| Ubatuba Acai | Not disclosed | $30,000 | 5% + 3% | No Item 19 | 20 | 2025 |
| Tru Bowl | $204,900 – $331,820 | $30,000 | 0% for months 1-3, then 5% + 1% | FPR disclosed (n=5) | 13 | 2026 |
| Sambazon Acai Bowls | $380,000 – $630,000 | $30,000 | 5% + 2% | No franchised units yet | 0 | 2023 |
The table corrects the most common claim made about this category, which is that acai franchising barely exists. Ten brands have filed and parsed FDDs, they run roughly 700 franchised units between them, and four disclose a usable revenue figure. Franchise fees are also notably cheap for food franchising: Nautical Bowls charges $20,000 against a $30,000 to $50,000 norm across QSR.
A median tells you the midpoint. Quartiles tell you the shape, which is what you actually need to underwrite a specific site. Four acai brands disclose both.
| Brand | p25 | Median | p75 | Sample | Segment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Playa Bowls | $836,661 | $1,094,086 | $1,309,987 | 223 | Operational traditional franchised outlets, CY2025 |
| Acai Express | $371,433 | $501,157 | $730,363 | Not stated | 2022 filing |
| SoBol | $408,106 | $527,800 | $717,750 | 60 | Operational franchise outlets, CY2024 |
| Everbowl | $374,615 | $481,923 | $628,439 | 58 | All franchised units, FY2025 |
Everbowl has the tightest spread of the four: the gap between its quartiles is $253,824, or 53% of its median. Acai Express has the widest at $358,930, or 72% of median, though from a 2022 filing with no stated sample size. A narrow spread means the format travels and the system is doing the work. A wide one means site selection and operator skill are carrying more of the result than the brand is, which changes how much a franchisor’s support package is worth to you. Our guide to average versus median and survivorship bias in Item 19 covers why the shape matters more than the midpoint.
Two brands publish a financial performance representation on samples too small to rank on. Frutta Bowls’ representation covers 15 units open the entire fiscal year, and Tru Bowl’s covers 5 franchisee-owned businesses for calendar year 2024. Neither sample is deep enough to build a forecast on, and we are not placing either in a revenue ranking. Nautical Bowls reports an average rather than a median across 41 units, and in food franchising averages typically sit above the midpoint.
The acai bowl category has grown from specialty-cafe novelty to mainstream healthy QSR over the past decade. Consumer expansion has been driven by demographic alignment with health-focused millennials and Gen Z, strong social-media presentation, adjacent dietary positioning (vegan, gluten-free, superfood-anchored), and year-round appeal in warm markets.
Franchise development followed, later than the consumer trend but further than the category’s reputation suggests. Playa Bowls has filed through 2026 with 342 franchised units. Everbowl, Nautical Bowls, and SoBol all clear 60 units. What remains genuinely limited is the number of brands with long multi-year Item 19 track records, and the geographic breadth of proven unit economics.
Two disclosure gaps are worth flagging before the brand sections. Acai Express’s figures come from a 2022 FDD, so its $501,157 median is four years stale and should be treated as historical rather than current. And Sambazon Acai Bowls filed a 2023 FDD disclosing $380,000 to $630,000 in investment but had zero franchised units at the time, meaning there is no operator base to validate against.
Item 20 unit movement separates the systems adding operators from the ones treading water. The counts below are for each brand’s most recent reporting year. One caveat on the closure column: our extraction reads the terminations line, which understates total exits because transfers and non-renewals sit in separate tables. Read these as directional, and pull the full Item 20 for any brand you shortlist.
| Brand | Opened | Closed | Net |
|---|---|---|---|
| Playa Bowls | 85 | 5 | +80 |
| Everbowl | 26 | 13 | +13 |
| Nautical Bowls | 24 | 7 | +17 |
| Tru Bowl | 8 | 1 | +7 |
| Ubatuba Acai | 8 | 0 | +8 |
| Acai Express (2022) | 10 | 0 | +10 |
| Oakberry | 5 | 2 | +3 |
| SoBol | 5 | 3 | +2 |
| Frutta Bowls | 2 | 7 | -5 |
Playa Bowls added 80 net units in a single year, which is more than the entire franchised base of every brand on this list except Everbowl. Frutta Bowls is the one system going backwards, closing seven against two openings on a base of 20, and its financial performance representation covers only 15 units. Those two facts belong next to each other.
Playa Bowls, founded in 2016, is the acai category’s dominant franchise system and one of the better-disclosed food franchises at any size. The 2026 FDD discloses $281,960 to $1,055,594 total investment, a $35,000 franchise fee, 6% royalty, and a 2% ad fund, across 342 franchised units and 29 company-owned locations, with a 10-year term.
The Item 19 is what separates it. Playa Bowls reports a $1,094,086 median across 223 operational traditional franchised outlets for calendar year 2025, with p25 at $836,661 and p75 at $1,309,987. That median is roughly double SoBol’s and more than double Everbowl’s, and it beats Smoothie King’s $627,210 median by 74% despite Smoothie King running 1,242 units.
The distribution matters as much as the midpoint. A p25 of $836,661 means three-quarters of the reporting outlets cleared $836,000, which is an unusually high floor for food franchising and suggests the format travels well rather than depending on a handful of flagship sites. The trade is capital: the top of the Item 7 range exceeds $1 million, so a full build competes with far more established QSR brands for the same money. Note also that the 223-unit sample covers traditional outlets only, so non-traditional locations are excluded, and that the filing discloses no exclusive territory.
Strengths: highest disclosed median in the category, a high p25 floor, an 80-unit net gain last year, 29 company-owned units giving the franchisor operating exposure, and a 6% royalty that is at the low end for QSR.
Weaknesses: build cost reaches $1,055,594, no exclusive territory protection disclosed, and the Item 19 excludes non-traditional formats. For a working method to turn that median into a site-level forecast, see how to build a pro forma from Item 19.
These three brands build for roughly half of Playa Bowls’ ceiling and all disclose revenue data, which makes them the practical comparison set for most buyers.
Everbowl is the second-largest system at 95 franchised units, up 26 openings against 13 closures last year. The 2026 FDD discloses $208,700 to $390,950 total investment, a $39,950 franchise fee (the highest in the category), 6% royalty, and a 2% ad fund. Item 19 reports a $481,923 median across all 58 franchised units for fiscal 2025, with p25 at $374,615 and p75 at $628,439. That is the tightest distribution in the category, and the full-system sample with no survivorship filter is a genuine mark of disclosure quality.
SoBol discloses the second-best revenue-to-investment ratio in the tier: a $527,800 median across 60 operational outlets against $195,600 to $470,700 in investment, per the 2024 FDD, with p25 at $408,106 and p75 at $717,750. Fees are the category’s lowest combined load at 5% royalty plus a 1% ad fund. The caveat is FDD recency. A 2024 filing means the figures predate two seasons of operating results, so ask for the current year’s Item 19 in discovery.
Nautical Bowls runs 70 franchised units on $220,200 to $439,850 investment with the category’s cheapest franchise fee at $20,000, per the 2025 FDD, and it grants an exclusive territory, which Playa Bowls does not. Its disclosure is the weakest of the three: a $357,453 average across a 41-unit sample, with no median parsed. Averages hide the shape of a distribution, and in food franchising they typically sit above the median, so treat $357,453 as an optimistic reference point rather than a midpoint.
Oakberry is the kiosk-format entry point at $65,000 to $300,000 total investment per its 2025 FDD, with a $30,000 franchise fee, 6% royalty, an ad fund up to 3%, and a short 5-year term. It had 24 franchised and 15 company-owned units at filing, having opened 5 against 2 closures. That $65,000 floor is the lowest disclosed acai entry cost and roughly a quarter of Everbowl’s, which makes it the only brand here that fits a genuinely small budget. There is no disclosed median, so you are underwriting on your own traffic assumptions, and the 5-year term means your renewal decision arrives before most storefront concepts have finished paying back the build.
Frutta Bowls discloses $329,000 to $514,750 with a $35,000 fee, 6% royalty on net sales, and a 3% ad fund across 20 franchised units (2026 FDD), with a financial performance representation covering 15 units open the full fiscal year. It closed 7 units against 2 openings last year. Tru Bowl discloses $204,900 to $331,820 with a $30,000 fee and an unusual royalty structure: 0% for the first three months, then 5%, plus a 1% ad fund. It runs 13 franchised units and 2 company-owned, and its financial performance representation covers 5 franchisee-owned businesses for calendar year 2024. Five units is too thin to rank on, and we have not ranked it.
Ubatuba Acai deserves a specific correction, because it is routinely presented as the category’s primary FDD-registered option. Its 2025 FDD discloses a $30,000 franchise fee, 5% royalty, and 3% ad fund across 20 franchised and 10 company-owned units, with the brand founded in 2016 and 8 units opened last year. It does not disclose a usable Item 7 total investment range in the filing as parsed, and it carries no Item 19 at all. Figures circulating elsewhere that show a roughly $1,000 to $436,000 range for this brand do not hold up against the current document; a $1,000 minimum investment is not a plausible Item 7 floor for any storefront concept. Without an investment range or earnings disclosure, this is the hardest brand in the category to underwrite despite being one of the most visible. See what no Item 19 actually means for how to price that gap.
Two brands frequently listed in acai roundups, Vitality Bowls and Sunlife Organics, have no parsed FDD in our database. We are not publishing figures for them.
Acai-focused franchises compete for the same customer as the national smoothie systems, and both categories serve acai bowls. The honest comparison runs on two axes: sample depth and revenue per dollar invested.
Smoothie King’s 2026 FDD discloses 1,242 franchised units, $329,850 to $1,278,900 total investment, a $30,000 franchise fee, 6% royalty, and a 3% ad fund, with a $627,210 Item 19 median across 1,087 franchised units. That 1,087-unit sample is the deepest disclosure available anywhere in this competitive set, and the brand opened 81 units against 30 closures last year. Jamba discloses 709 franchised units, $249,025 to $1,811,400 investment, a $20,000 franchise fee, and a $624,754 median across 488 traditional franchises, but it closed 46 units against 29 opened.
The revenue-per-dollar comparison is where acai wins outright. Dividing each brand’s disclosed median by the midpoint of its Item 7 range:
| Brand | Item 7 midpoint | Item 19 median | Revenue per dollar of build |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acai Express | $293,700 | $501,157 | 1.71x |
| Playa Bowls | $668,777 | $1,094,086 | 1.64x |
| Everbowl | $299,825 | $481,923 | 1.61x |
| SoBol | $333,150 | $527,800 | 1.58x |
| Smoothie King | $804,375 | $627,210 | 0.78x |
| Jamba | $1,030,213 | $624,754 | 0.61x |
Every acai brand with a disclosed median returns more revenue per dollar of midpoint build cost than either national smoothie chain, and the gap is not close. What the smoothie systems buy you is confidence in the number: a 1,087-unit sample behaves very differently from a 58-unit one when you are betting several hundred thousand dollars on it. Our comparison of the best juice and smoothie franchises runs that category on its own terms, and is Smoothie King a good franchise covers the leader in depth.
One caution on Tropical Smoothie Cafe specifically: our parse of its 2024 FDD did not extract investment, fee, or Item 19 figures, so we are not publishing numbers for it here. For deeper comparison, see Tropical Smoothie vs Smoothie King, the Smoothie King franchise cost breakdown, and Tropical Smoothie franchise cost. The coffee shop franchise industry guide covers adjacent food-category dynamics.
Comparing two or three acai brands? The full 12-section FDD analysis covers Item 19 earnings, litigation history, fee footnotes, and a buyer verdict personalized to your capital and market: $49 per brand, or three brands for $99.
Four decisions shape unit economics more than brand selection does.
Format selection sets your capital floor. Kiosk, food truck, limited-format storefront, and full standalone QSR span a range from Oakberry’s $65,000 to Playa Bowls’ $1,055,594. Acai preparation needs blenders, prep surfaces, and cold storage rather than hood systems and fryers, which is what makes kiosk and limited formats viable in a way mainstream QSR cannot match.
Geographic concentration is the binding constraint. Demand concentrates in coastal and warm-climate markets: California, Florida, Hawaii, the Gulf Coast, and northeastern beach communities. Inland and cold-climate markets show lower category demand, and every disclosed median in this post is weighted toward the warm-market unit base.
Adjacent service mix trades complexity for ticket size. Pure acai operations run simpler and cheaper; broader healthy menus with smoothies, salads, wraps, and plant-based bowls produce higher per-customer revenue and longer service relationships at the cost of operating complexity and more SKUs to manage.
Day-part distribution is the quiet risk. Acai bowls serve breakfast and lunch with limited dinner demand. In a market without strong daytime traffic, you are covering a full day of fixed costs on two-thirds of the operating window.
The category-maturity risk is real but narrower than it used to be. Four specific risks survive the data.
Disclosure recency. SoBol’s figures come from a 2024 FDD and Acai Express’s from 2022. In a category growing this fast, a two-to-four-year-old Item 19 describes a different system than the one you would join. Always request the current year’s filing.
Sample quality. Nautical Bowls reports an average rather than a median, Frutta Bowls’ representation covers 15 units, and Tru Bowl’s covers 5. Playa Bowls’ sample excludes non-traditional formats. Playa Bowls, Everbowl, and SoBol are the only brands with samples deep enough to underwrite confidently. Our how to verify Item 19 earnings claims guide covers how to test these definitions.
Geographic concentration. The disclosed medians are heavily weighted toward coastal and warm-climate markets. Playa Bowls’ $836,661 p25 reflects a unit base concentrated in the Northeast shore, Florida, and California. An inland cold-climate territory should not be underwritten against that floor.
Real-estate competition. Acai concepts compete for healthy QSR sites against much larger systems, including Smoothie King’s 1,242 units and Jamba’s 709. Site selection in attractive markets means bidding against franchisors with deeper real-estate teams.
At $250,000 to $400,000 with a preference for disclosed data, Everbowl and SoBol are the strongest fits. Both publish full or near-full system samples with quartiles, in the $480,000 to $530,000 median range, against build costs well under Playa Bowls’.
At $500,000 or more, Playa Bowls’ $1,094,086 median and $836,661 p25 are the best unit economics disclosed anywhere in the acai or smoothie category, and its 342-unit base gives you a real validation pool.
When capital is the binding constraint, Oakberry’s $65,000 floor is the only genuine small-budget entry in the category, with the caveats that you get no disclosed revenue data and a 5-year term.
For maximum statistical confidence, the adjacent smoothie systems still win. Smoothie King’s 1,087-unit sample and Jamba’s 488-unit sample are an order of magnitude deeper than anything acai-specific, even though their medians are lower and their revenue per dollar of build is roughly half.
Geography outranks brand in every one of those scenarios. A strong operator in a coastal, demographically aligned market will outperform a weak operator under a better logo. Validate local demand before you shortlist brands.
The received wisdom on this category, that acai franchising barely exists in disclosed form, is out of date. Ten brands have parsed FDDs, four publish quartile distributions, and the category leader posts the highest median in its entire competitive set including the national smoothie chains.
What remains true is that disclosure quality varies more here than in mature QSR categories, that the geographic dependence is severe, and that the most-recommended brand in most third-party roundups (Ubatuba Acai) is the one with the least usable disclosure. Buyers who work from the actual filings rather than the roundups have a real information advantage in this category. Compare brands side by side in the franchise directory, or pull the full 12-section analysis on a specific brand for $49.
Not sure which franchise fits you yet?
Take our free 2-minute quiz. Tell us your capital, experience, and goals; we surface the brands worth researching. When you've narrowed your list, our full FDD reports are $49.
Take the free quiz Curious what you get? See a sample report →
Not ready to decide? Take the checklist with you.
Get the free Franchise Red-Flags Checklist: the things to verify in any FDD before you sign. We'll email it now, plus occasional buyer research from our team. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
✓ Check your inbox
The Franchise Red-Flags Checklist is on its way. While you wait, see a real $49 sample report →
The only franchise report written entirely for the buyer. 12 sections covering financial risks, legal obligations, and a personalized recommendation.
Browse Franchise Library See a real sample report →
$49 per brand · $99 for a 3-brand pack
acai bowl franchiseacai franchisesmoothie franchisehealthy food franchisefood franchiseindustry guide
About this analysis The franchise data in this article is drawn from VetMyFranchise's structured analysis of 2,300+ Franchise Disclosure Documents filed with U.S. state regulators. See our data & methodology.
Acai bowl franchise cost runs $65,000 to $1,055,594 depending on brand and format. Oakberry discloses $65,000 to $300,000 for kiosk-friendly builds (2025 FDD), Acai Express $158,400 to $429,000, SoBol $195,600 to $470,700, Tru Bowl $204,900 to $331,820, Everbowl $208,700 to $390,950, Nautical Bowls $220,200 to $439,850, Frutta Bowls $329,000 to $514,750, and Playa Bowls $281,960 to $1,055,594. Franchise fees run $20,000 to $39,950.
Playa Bowls, on disclosed data. Its 2026 FDD reports a $1,094,086 median across 223 traditional franchised outlets, roughly double the next-best brand, alongside 342 franchised units, 85 openings against 5 closures last year, and a $35,000 franchise fee. SoBol ($527,800 median, n=60) and Everbowl ($481,923, n=58) are the strongest mid-capital options at roughly half the build cost.
Playa Bowls' 2026 FDD reports a $1,094,086 median for calendar year 2025 across 223 operational traditional franchised outlets, with a $836,661 lower quartile and a $1,309,987 upper quartile. That is gross revenue, not owner profit, and the sample covers traditional outlets only, so non-traditional formats are excluded. Against a 6% royalty and a 2% ad fund, 8% of that median leaves the business before rent, food, or labor.
The disclosed revenue is strong relative to build cost, which is the part you can verify. Dividing each brand's Item 19 median by the midpoint of its Item 7 range gives 1.71x for Acai Express, 1.64x for Playa Bowls, 1.61x for Everbowl, and 1.58x for SoBol, against 0.78x for Smoothie King and 0.61x for Jamba. No brand in the category discloses unit-level profit, so anyone quoting you an acai bowl profit margin is estimating. Build the P&L yourself from the disclosed revenue down.
Better than the category's reputation suggests. Ten brands have parsed FDDs and four disclose usable Item 19 medians with quartiles, so this is no longer an undisclosed category. Playa Bowls' $1,094,086 median beats Smoothie King's $627,210 on far fewer units. The real risks are geographic concentration in warm coastal markets and thin day-part coverage beyond breakfast and lunch.
Playa Bowls (342 franchised units), Everbowl (95), Nautical Bowls (70), SoBol (65), Acai Express (38), Oakberry (24), Frutta Bowls (20), Ubatuba Acai (20), and Tru Bowl (13) have all filed FDDs we have reviewed. Sambazon Acai Bowls filed a 2023 FDD with no franchised units yet. Vitality Bowls and Sunlife Organics have no parsed FDD in our database.
Different competitive sets and different disclosure depth. Smoothie King and Jamba operate at far greater scale with sample sizes of 1,087 and 488 units behind their Item 19 figures, which is a level of statistical confidence no acai brand can match. Acai brands win on revenue per dollar invested and on capital flexibility at the low end. For a first-time food franchise buyer who wants the most reliable earnings data available, the smoothie systems are the safer read. For revenue per dollar of build, Playa Bowls is hard to beat in food franchising at any size.
The unit data points to structural growth. Playa Bowls opened 85 franchised units against 5 closures in its last reporting year, Everbowl opened 26, and Nautical Bowls opened 24. Jamba, by contrast, closed 46 against 29 opened. Acai bowl concepts have been expanding for more than a decade and the demographic that drives them has not rotated away. The structural-versus-fad question is unlikely to be the binding decision variable; geography is.
This page is part of VetMyFranchise. View all pages: llms.txt · llms-full.txt