Home Instead Item 19 2026: $2.35M Median Senior Care Economics

Summary

Home Instead Item 19: $2,352,451 median across 611 franchised territories in calendar 2025. The AUV-to-investment ratio, what the tenure table shows, and how it compares to Right at Home and BrightStar.

Contents

Key facts


Quick answer Home Instead's current Item 19 (2026 FDD) reports a $2,352,451 median in annual Gross Sales across 611 U.S. franchised territories for calendar year 2025, against a total investment of $92,640 to $350,550 and a 5% royalty. Average Gross Sales were $2,750,876, and 242 territories (39%) met or exceeded that average. The filing publishes no year-one projection, but its tenure table shows that all 14 territories with 1-2 years of tenure reported under $1.5M, and 12 of those 14 reported under $1M.

The Disclosure

Metric Value
Sample size 611 franchised territories
Sample criteria All franchised territories open the full year (no tenure filter)
Reporting period Calendar year 2025
Median annual Gross Sales $2,352,451
Average annual Gross Sales $2,750,876
Meeting or exceeding the average 242 territories (39%)
Highest / lowest reporting territory $13,070,342 / $38,465
Median client hours served 69,017
Total franchised units in system 626
Initial franchise fee (Item 5) $54,000
Total investment (Item 7) $92,640 - $350,550
Royalty rate 5% of Gross Sales
Marketing Fund 2% of monthly Gross Sales

The sample covers essentially the entire franchised system: 611 of 626 territories, or 98%. The gap reconciles cleanly against the filing’s own exclusions, which are the 15 territories that opened after January 1, 2025, plus anything that closed during calendar 2025 and 4 locations terminated during the year. Affiliate-operated Home Instead businesses are excluded throughout.

The no-tenure-filter methodology means the disclosed median includes recent openings alongside decades-old operations. That pulls the central tendency down somewhat but produces the most representative figure available for the franchised system as a whole.

Ongoing fees are a 5% royalty on Gross Sales plus a 2% Marketing Fund contribution, so 7% of revenue before the $500/month technology fee. That total sits below typical QSR fee burden (often 8-10% combined) and is competitive within senior care.

One year-over-year note worth carrying into your underwriting: the prior filing (calendar 2024) reported a $2,261,503 median across 603 territories. The current filing’s $2,352,451 across 611 is about 4% higher on a cohort that grew by eight territories.

Why the AUV-to-Investment Ratio Is Exceptional

A $2,352,451 median against a $92,640-$350,550 investment range produces an AUV-to-investment ratio of about 25x at the bottom of the Item 7 range and about 7x at the top, roughly 11x at the midpoint. By any historical franchise standard, that is outstanding. Comparison against other brands whose current Item 19 and Item 7 figures we hold, using each brand’s Item 7 midpoint:

Brand Median AUV Investment (Item 7) AUV/Investment at midpoint
Home Instead $2,352,451 $92,640-$350,550 11x
Mr. Rooter $1,257,146 $152,900-$298,675 6x
Wingstop $1,890,866 $310,400-$1,048,500 3x
Hand and Stone $1,236,266 $320,891-$864,729 2x
Dunkin’ $1,297,694 $142,000-$1,832,500 1.3x

The ratio is high because senior care has a fundamentally different operating structure than physical-retail franchises:

No retail buildout. Item 7 budgets $600 to $15,500 for real estate and improvements. The filing describes a dedicated business address of roughly 500-800 square feet, which can sit in an office park or a co-working facility, at an estimated $8,400 to $36,000 of annual rent. There is no customer-facing storefront requirement.

No equipment-intensive operations. Care delivery happens at the client’s home. The equipment line is $3,000 to $21,500 and covers a computer, a TV, office furniture, fixtures and incidental supplies. No commercial kitchen, no fitness floor, no retail fixtures.

Variable cost structure scales with revenue. Caregiver labor, the primary cost, scales directly with billed hours. The largest single Item 7 line is Additional Funds for the first three months at $28,840 to $187,000, which is working capital rather than sunk fixed cost.

The ratio is what makes senior care attractive to capital-efficient buyers. The trade-off, covered below, is the slow ramp.

What “Mature Territory” Actually Means

A Home Instead territory at the system median bills $2,352,451 a year against 69,017 median client hours served. That is roughly 1,327 billable hours per week, and it implies about $34 of Gross Sales per hour at the median. The average territory runs 79,658 hours; the highest reporting territory logged 376,064 hours and the lowest logged 893.

Item 19 does not disclose active client counts or caregiver headcount, so any figure you see for those is somebody’s estimate rather than a franchisor representation. What the filing does disclose about maturity is tenure, and the picture is stark:

Territory tenure Territories Share of cohort Reported $2M+
1-2 years 14 2.3% 0
3-4 years 17 2.8% 2
5-7 years 21 3.4% 7
8-10 years 25 4.1% 14
11-15 years 40 6.5% 18
16-20 years 83 13.6% 53
21-25 years 193 31.6% 139
26+ years 218 35.7% 152

Two-thirds of the reporting cohort (411 of 611) has been open 21 years or more, and 218 territories have been open at least 26 years. Only 31 territories, about 5% of the cohort, are under five years old. The disclosed median is therefore a statement about a heavily seasoned system, not about what a new territory produces.

That maturity does not happen in year one. A new territory’s first twelve months go into infrastructure: hiring the first cohort of caregivers, developing referral relationships with hospital discharge planners and senior living communities, and taking on the first clients. The filing does not quantify that period, but the tenure table brackets it.

What the Tenure Table Says About the Ramp

Senior care ramps slowly, and the tenure breakdown in the current Item 19 is the closest thing to a ramp curve the franchisor publishes. Reading down the newest cohorts:

So the crossing point into $2M-plus territory shows up in the 3-4 year cohort at the earliest and only becomes common at 5-7 years, where a third of territories clear it. By 16-20 years, 53 of 83 territories (64%) are at $2,000,000 or more.

Across the whole cohort the distribution looks like this:

Calendar 2025 Gross Sales Territories Share
$7,500,000+ 15 3%
$4,500,000 - $7,499,999 65 11%
$3,000,000 - $4,499,999 118 19%
$2,000,000 - $2,999,999 187 31%
$1,500,000 - $1,999,999 99 16%
$1,000,000 - $1,499,999 76 12%
$500,000 - $999,999 39 6%
$0 - $499,999 12 2%

The ramp is the dominant operational variable. Item 7 budgets $28,840 to $187,000 of additional funds for the first three months only, and the tenure data says the business is still well below the median well past that window. Operators who underestimate the ramp run out of capital before the business stabilizes.

Comparison to Senior Care Peers

Brand Item 19 cohort Median AUV Investment AUV/Investment at midpoint
Home Instead 611 $2,352,451 $92,640-$350,550 11x
Right at Home 390 $1,334,579 $94,330-$176,239 10x
BrightStar Care not extracted not extracted $102,754-$220,186 not calculable

Only brands with a current judged Item 19 in our data set appear with a median above. Right at Home’s calendar 2025 disclosure is the closest verified comparator, and Home Instead’s median runs about 76% higher on a cohort that is 57% larger. BrightStar Care operates a medical home care model and its current filing in our set does not carry an extracted Item 19 median, so we do not publish one (see our BrightStar vs Senior Helpers vs Always Best Care comparison for the model differences). We do not currently hold a judged Item 19 for Visiting Angels or Comfort Keepers.

For broader category context, see senior care franchise opportunities and Home Instead vs Right at Home vs Visiting Angels.

What This Means for Buyers

For brand-specific cost detail, see the live Home Instead franchise page. For the broader senior care decision framework, senior care franchise opportunities.

Brands mentioned in this post

Get the full 12-section FDD analysis — $49

Real franchise data, real Item 19 numbers, personalized to your capital and location. Comparing 2–3 brands? The 3-pack is $99.

Browse franchises · pick your brand Or see a real sample report →

Get a Professional FDD Analysis — $49

The only franchise report written entirely for the buyer. 12 sections covering financial risks, legal obligations, and a personalized recommendation.

Browse Franchise Library See a real sample report →

$49 per brand · $99 for a 3-brand pack

Franchises you might be evaluating

Health Mart

Learn more →

Amerisourcebergen Drug

Learn more →

Miracle-Ear

Learn more →

Keep reading

7 Brew Franchise Cost: $940K In, $2.55M Out, 578 Stands

Learn more →

7-Eleven Franchise Cost: $162,900 to $1,656,800 in the 2026 FDD

Learn more →

Urgent Care Franchise Cost: What AFC Really Takes

Learn more →

home insteaditem 19senior care franchisenon-medical home carefdd analysis

About this analysis The franchise data in this article is drawn from VetMyFranchise's structured analysis of 2,400+ Franchise Disclosure Documents filed with U.S. state regulators. See our data & methodology.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Home Instead's Item 19 median revenue?

Home Instead's current Item 19 reports median annual Gross Sales of $2,352,451 across 611 U.S. franchised territories for calendar year 2025. Average Gross Sales were $2,750,876, with 242 territories (39%) at or above the average. The highest reporting territory billed $13,070,342 and the lowest billed $38,465. The cohort excludes affiliate-operated businesses, 15 territories that opened after January 1, 2025, any that closed during calendar 2025, and 4 locations terminated during calendar 2025.

Why is Home Instead's AUV so high?

Senior care franchises bill for hours of in-home care delivery, and the disclosed hour volumes are large. Home Instead's Item 19 reports median client hours served of 69,017 per territory (average 79,658), which works out to roughly 1,300 billable hours per week at the median and implies about $34 of Gross Sales per hour. At that hour volume, 385 of the 611 reporting territories (63%) billed $2,000,000 or more in calendar 2025. Item 19 does not disclose client counts or caregiver headcount.

Is Home Instead's AUV-to-investment ratio really 10x?

Roughly, at the middle of the range. The $2,352,451 median against a $92,640-$350,550 total investment produces a ratio of about 7x at the top of the Item 7 range and about 25x at the bottom, or about 11x at the midpoint. That is one of the strongest AUV-to-investment ratios in any franchise category, driven by the home-services overhead model: no retail buildout, a 500-800 square foot office, and no equipment-intensive operations.

Can a new Home Instead hit the $2.35M median in year one?

No, and the filing's own tenure table is the evidence. Of the 14 reporting territories with 1-2 years of tenure, 7 reported Gross Sales under $500,000, 12 of 14 reported under $1,000,000, and none reported above $1,500,000. At 3-4 years of tenure, 8 of 17 territories were still under $1,000,000 and only 2 reached $2,000,000. Item 19 publishes no monthly or year-one ramp projection, so any ramp model you build is yours to defend, not the franchisor's.

How does Home Instead compare to other senior care brands?

Home Instead's $2,352,451 median is the highest we have extracted in non-medical home care. The closest verified comparator in our current FDD set is Right at Home, whose calendar 2025 Item 19 reports a $1,334,579 median across 390 franchised businesses at a $94,330-$176,239 investment. BrightStar Franchising's current filing in our set carries a $102,754-$220,186 investment but no extracted Item 19 median. We do not currently hold a judged Item 19 for Visiting Angels or Comfort Keepers, so we do not publish medians for them.

Cite this page

Related on this site


This page is part of VetMyFranchise. View all pages: llms.txt · llms-full.txt

Site index for AI agents: llms.txt · sitemap