The Goddard School Franchise Review 2026: Ratings & Verdict

Product details

Contents

Key facts


The Verdict

Quick Verdict · who it fits

The Goddard School fits first-time franchise buyers looking for a mature child services concept.

✓ Strengths

⚠ Risks to review

Key FDD Facts

The numbers a buyer needs first — straight from the filing.

Initial investment (Item 7)

$1.0M - $8.9M

Franchise fee (Item 5)

$135K

Royalty (Item 6)

7% + 4% ad

System size (Item 20)

665 +23

Agreement term

15 yrs

Years in business

24+ yrs

Item 3 litigation

1 suit

Model The Goddard School's costs in the investment calculator → Prefilled from this filing — startup cost, cash flow and break-even.

Buyer qualifications

•No exclusive territory•Owner-operator required✓No bankruptcy disclosed•1 Item 3 case

Data extracted from the 2026 FDD filed with state regulators. Fees and terms may have changed since filing — request the current FDD from the franchisor before deciding. Not legal, financial, or investment advice. Full disclaimer.

What you'd pay the franchisor

Drag to your projected annual sales. Royalty 7% + ad fund 4% on gross sales.

PROJECTED ANNUAL SALES$500,000

$100k$2M

Royalty (7%)

Ad fund (4%)

Total / year

▪ Of-sales fees only · excludes rent, labor, COGS, and one-time costs · for illustration

Executive Summary

Free AI summary — the first read on the filing.

Key Numbers

665

Total units open

Not disclosed

Units opened last year

1

Units closed last year

Not disclosed

Net unit growth

AI Due Diligence Findings PREMIUM

What our analysis flagged across the 2026 filing.

5

Risks to review

4

Strengths identified

5

Questions to ask

Industry Benchmarks

How The Goddard School ranks against 137 Child Services & Education peers we've analyzed.

Initial investment

87th pct · of 137 peers

Franchise fee

98th pct · of 137 peers

System size

97th pct · of 137 peers

Child Services & Education industry averages

Avg investment

$373K - $1.1M

Avg franchise fee

$46K

Avg system size

96

Franchises analyzed

137

How The Goddard School stacks up

Closest concepts by category and investment.

Brand Item 19 Fee Investment Royalty Units
The Goddard School Disclosed $135K $1.0M - $8.9M 7% 665
Kiddie Academy DomesticSimilar price Disclosed $150K $590K - $8.5M 7% 363
Kumon North AmericaBiggest system None $2K $102K - $234K 1,705
Uatp ManagementTop-rated in category Disclosed $100K $2.9M - $5.4M 7% 202

Compare side-by-side ↗

Not sure The Goddard School is the one?

Answer five questions and get matched against 2,000+ analyzed FDDs — including every Child Services & Education brand we cover. Free, no account needed.

Find My Match →

Franchise research guides

Free explainers to go deeper before you sign.

Get franchise information FREE

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a The Goddard School franchise cost?

The Goddard School requires a $135,000 initial franchise fee and a total initial investment range of $1,003,500–$8,908,000, per the most recent FDD on file.

Who owns The Goddard School?

The Goddard School is franchised by Goddard Franchisor LLC (f/k/a Goddard Systems, LLC), the franchisor entity of record on its Franchise Disclosure Document. Item 1 of the FDD discloses the franchisor's corporate history, parents, and predecessors.

Does The Goddard School disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes. The Goddard School discloses Item 19 financial performance representations in its FDD. See the financials sub-page for the disclosed figures.

What ongoing fees does The Goddard School charge?

Franchisees pay a royalty of 7% and an advertising fund contribution of 4% on gross sales as defined in Item 6 of the FDD.

How many The Goddard School locations are there?

As of their 2026 FDD, The Goddard School has 665 total locations, with 23 new locations opened in the most recent reporting year. This information comes from Item 20 of the FDD.

Does The Goddard School grant exclusive territory?

No. The Goddard School does not grant exclusive territory rights under Item 12. The franchisor retains the right to operate or grant additional units inside or adjacent to your trade area.

What are the renewal and exit terms?

Per the FDD, The Goddard School discloses an initial agreement term of 15 years. Review Items 10 and 17 for the full renewal and termination provisions.

Cite this page

Related on this site


This page is part of VetMyFranchise. View all pages: llms.txt · llms-full.txt

Site index for AI agents: llms.txt · sitemap