Jani-King Franchise Review 2025: Ratings & Verdict

Product details

Contents

Key facts


The Verdict

Quick Verdict · who it fits

Jani-King fits first-time franchise buyers looking for an emerging cleaning concept.

✓ Strengths

Key FDD Facts

The numbers a buyer needs first — straight from the filing.

Initial investment (Item 7)

$170K - $2.9M

Franchise fee (Item 5)

$100K

Royalty (Item 6)

5–6% + 1% ad

System size (Item 20)

47

Years in business

41+ yrs

Model Jani-King's costs in the investment calculator → Prefilled from this filing — startup cost, cash flow and break-even.

Buyer qualifications

✓Exclusive territory✓No bankruptcy disclosed

Data extracted from the 2025 FDD filed with state regulators. Fees and terms may have changed since filing — request the current FDD from the franchisor before deciding. Not legal, financial, or investment advice. Full disclaimer.

What you'd pay the franchisor

Drag to your projected annual sales. Royalty 5–6% + ad fund 1% on gross sales.

PROJECTED ANNUAL SALES$500,000

$100k$2M

Royalty (5–6%)

—

Ad fund (1%)

—

Total / year

—

▪ Of-sales fees only · excludes rent, labor, COGS, and one-time costs · for illustration

Executive Summary

Free AI summary — the first read on the filing.

Key Numbers

47

Total units open

Not disclosed

Units opened last year

Not disclosed

Units closed last year

Not disclosed

Net unit growth

AI Due Diligence Findings PREMIUM

What our analysis flagged across the 2025 filing.

5

Risks to review

4

Strengths identified

5

Questions to ask

Industry Benchmarks

How Jani-King ranks against 142 Cleaning & Maintenance peers we've analyzed.

Initial investment

72nd pct · of 142 peers

Franchise fee

96th pct · of 142 peers

System size

31st pct · of 142 peers

Cleaning & Maintenance industry averages

Avg investment

$165K - $406K

Avg franchise fee

$43K

Avg system size

377

Franchises analyzed

142

How Jani-King stacks up

Closest concepts by category and investment.

Brand Item 19 Fee Investment Royalty Units
Jani-King Disclosed $100K $170K - $2.9M 5–6% 47
MulberrysSimilar price None $50K $559K - $2.8M 6% 15
Jani-King of CaliforniaBiggest system None $3K — 11% 202,320
Vanguard CleaningTop-rated in category Disclosed $100K $165K - $473K 5% 48

Compare side-by-side ↗

Not sure Jani-King is the one?

Answer five questions and get matched against 2,000+ analyzed FDDs — including every Cleaning & Maintenance brand we cover. Free, no account needed.

Find My Match →

Franchise research guides

Free explainers to go deeper before you sign.

Brand Analysis

Home Service Franchise Costs Compared: Plumbing, Cleaning, Restoration, Lawn Care & More

Home service franchises offer lower overhead than restaurants and strong recession resistance. Compare investment costs, royalties, and territory sizes across plumbing, cleaning, restoration, lawn care, HVAC, and handyman brands.

Learn more →

Brand Analysis

Is Window Genie a Good Franchise? 2026 Verdict on the Neighborly Brand

Window Genie's 2026 FDD discloses a $387K median AUV across 90 units, with a $128K-$828K interquartile range that tells the real story. Inside the Neighborly portfolio, the verdict depends on how the brand fits adjacent operations.

Learn more →

Brand Analysis

Tide Cleaners Franchise Cost: The P&G-Licensed Drycleaning Math in 2026

Tide Cleaners' 2025 FDD shows total investment of $698K to $2.5M, a $20K-$50K franchise fee, and a 6.5% royalty plus 4% ad fund. The 12-14 year typical payback period is among the longest in major U.S. franchising. Here's the honest math and the buyer profile that makes it work.

Learn more →

Get franchise information FREE

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Jani-King franchise cost?

Jani-King requires a $100,000 initial franchise fee and a total initial investment range of $169,690–$2,882,440, per the most recent FDD on file.

Who owns Jani-King?

Jani-King franchises are sold by Jani-King Franchising, Inc., the franchisor entity of record on its Franchise Disclosure Document. Item 1 of the FDD discloses the corporate structure, including any parent companies and predecessors.

Does Jani-King disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes. Jani-King discloses Item 19 financial performance representations in its FDD. See the financials sub-page for the disclosed figures.

What ongoing fees does Jani-King charge?

Franchisees pay a royalty of 5.0% to 6.0% and an advertising fund contribution of 1% on gross sales as defined in Item 6 of the FDD.

How many Jani-King locations are there?

As of their 2025 FDD, Jani-King has 47 total locations. This information comes from Item 20 of the FDD.

Does Jani-King grant exclusive territory?

Yes. Jani-King grants franchisees an exclusive territory under Item 12 of the FDD. Note that exclusive territories often carve out online sales, alternative distribution channels, and non-traditional venues — review the full Item 12 language before signing.

Cite this page

Related on this site


This page is part of VetMyFranchise. View all pages: llms.txt · llms-full.txt

Site index for AI agents: llms.txt · sitemap