Best sandwich franchises for 2026 on real FDD data: Jersey Mike's $1.31M median AUV vs Jimmy John's $955,639, plus Item 7 costs and closure rates.
Quick answer Of the 23 sandwich franchises with current FDDs in our library, Jersey Mike's posts the highest disclosed unit volume: a $1,305,850 median across 2,606 traditional franchised restaurants, on a $436,176 to $1,162,228 investment. Jimmy John's median is $955,639 and Firehouse Subs $986,432. Subway is the largest system at 18,773 U.S. franchised outlets and publishes no Item 19 at all.
Jersey Mike’s is the best sandwich franchise for most 2026 buyers on the numbers that matter: a $1,305,850 median unit volume across 2,606 traditional franchised restaurants, a 0.19% annual closure rate, and growth from 2,647 to 3,201 franchised outlets over two fiscal years. It costs $436,176 to $1,162,228 to open with a $20,000 franchise fee and a 6.5% royalty on gross receipts.
Jimmy John’s is the value play at a $955,639 median and a $366,200 traditional entry. Firehouse Subs sits between them at $986,432. And Subway, still the largest system in the country at 18,773 franchised outlets, publishes no Item 19 at all and closed 1,076 franchised units in a single year.
Every figure on this page comes from Item 5, 6, 7, 19, or 20 of a current Franchise Disclosure Document. Nothing here is a projection.
Comparing brands yourself? Browse all sandwich and sub franchise opportunities with live FDD data.
The category is not one market. It splits into five formats with genuinely different economics. Cold sub shops (Subway, Jersey Mike’s, Jimmy John’s, Cousins Subs, Mr. Goodcents, PrimoHoagies) run the leanest kitchens in food service, which is why several open under $400,000. Hot sub and toasted concepts (Firehouse Subs, Quiznos, Potbelly, Schlotzsky’s) add ovens and a higher ticket. Cheesesteak concepts (Charleys Philly Steaks, Steak Escape, Penn Station) run grill lines and lean heavily on mall, strip, and Walmart real estate. Delis with dine-in (McAlister’s, Jason’s Deli, Newk’s, Which Wich) carry the highest build-out cost in the sub-adjacent group. Panera Bread, the only bakery-cafe on this page, is a different business that happens to sell sandwiches.
Capital ranges from $122,800 at the bottom to $4,619,880 at the top, a 38-fold spread inside one category label. Disclosed unit volume runs from a $368,576 median at Quiznos to a $2,541,217 average at Panera, roughly seven-fold. Those two spreads do not line up, which is the entire reason to read the FDD instead of the brochure.
Five brands account for most of the shortlists we see. Ranked on disclosed median unit volume against what it costs to get in the door:
| Sandwich franchise | Item 19 median | Item 7 entry | Royalty | Franchised units |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jersey Mike’s | $1,305,850 | from $436,176 | 6.5% | 3,201 |
| Firehouse Subs | $986,432 | from $405,350 | 6% | 1,249 |
| Jimmy John’s | $955,639 | from $366,200 | 6% | 2,737 |
| Penn Station | $779,031 | from $440,600 | 2% to 8% tiered | 321 |
| Subway | none disclosed | from $263,000 | 8% | 18,773 |
The other 18 brands, the closure math, and the format-level splits that decide most of these outcomes are below.
All figures from Item 5, 6, and 7 of each brand’s current FDD. Filings are 2026 unless noted.
| Brand | Franchised units | Item 7 initial investment | Franchise fee | Royalty | Ad fund |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Subway | 18,773 | $263,000-$630,000 traditional; $227,000-$458,000 non-traditional | $15,000 | 8% | 4.5% |
| Jersey Mike’s | 3,201 | $436,176-$1,162,228 | $20,000 | 6.5% of gross receipts | 1.0%-5.0% |
| Jimmy John’s | 2,737 | $366,200-$733,500 traditional; $206,200-$686,000 non-traditional | $35,000 | 6% | 2.25%-4.5% |
| Firehouse Subs | 1,249 | $405,350-$1,577,750 across three formats | $20,000 | 6% | 4.0%-5.0% |
| Panera Bread | 1,106 | $1,223,702-$4,619,880 | $50,000 | 5% | 4% national + 2% local + 0.4% admin |
| Charleys Philly Steaks | 766 | $203,492-$1,004,447 | $24,500 | greater of $300 or 6% of gross sales | 1.0%-4.0% |
| McAlister’s Deli | 533 | $910,175-$1,816,100 endcap; $1,282,525-$2,575,400 freestanding | $35,500 | 5% of net sales | 2% of net sales |
| Penn Station East Coast Subs | 321 | $440,600-$833,200 | $25,000 | 2%-8%, tiered on monthly net sales | 2% national + up to 2% local |
| Schlotzsky’s | 267 | $675,365-$2,261,500 | $35,500 | 6% of net sales | 4.0%-5.0% |
| Quiznos (2025 FDD) | 151 | $213,900-$648,800 | $5,000 | 5% | 4.0%-5.0% |
| Which Wich (2025 FDD) | 150 | $253,500-$822,250 | $30,000 | 6% of gross sales | 1.0%-3.0% |
| Togo’s | 142 | $502,325-$715,900 | $49,500 | 5% | not disclosed in our data |
| Capriotti’s Sandwich Shop (2025 FDD) | 138 | $145,000-$935,000 | $40,000 | 6.0%-7.0% | 2.0%-4.0% |
| Potbelly | 122 | $628,938-$999,371 | $40,000 | 6% | 3% brand fund, may rise to 4% |
| PrimoHoagies | 114 | $366,240-$652,496 | $25,000 | 6% of gross sales | 3% of gross sales |
| Jason’s Deli | 73 | $1,706,691-$2,516,291 | $35,000 | 4% of gross sales | 0.5%-2.0% |
| Newk’s Eatery | 69 | $927,500-$1,323,350 | $40,000 | 5% of net sales | 1.75% of net sales |
| Mr. Goodcents | 62 | $311,139-$505,910 | $30,000 | 6% of gross sales | 3.5% |
| Lee’s Sandwiches | 50 | not disclosed in our data | $60,000 | 6.9% | 2% |
| Deli Delicious (2025 FDD) | 42 | $122,800-$251,500 | $30,000 | 6% | not disclosed in our data |
| Cousins Subs | 34 | $464,700-$1,164,500 | $25,000 | 6% | 2% |
| Earl of Sandwich (2025 FDD) | 26 | $303,000-$639,500 | $25,000 | 6% of gross sales | 1.0%-5.0% |
| Steak Escape (2025 FDD) | 19 | $239,500-$828,500 | $25,000 | 6% of gross sales | 0.5%-3.0% |
Unit counts are franchised outlets at the most recent fiscal year end disclosed in Item 20. Investment ranges are Item 7 totals; where a brand discloses multiple facility types, both endpoints are shown or the full cross-format span is noted.
Three things stand out in that table.
Subway has the highest fee load in the category and the lowest franchise fee. Eight percent royalty plus 4.5% advertising is 12.5% of gross sales off the top, against a 6% plus 3% norm elsewhere. The $15,000 franchise fee is the cheapest door in the group, which is a different thing from the cheapest business.
Franchise fee tells you almost nothing. Quiznos charges $5,000 and Lee’s Sandwiches charges $60,000. That twelve-fold spread has no relationship to unit volume, closure rate, or build-out cost. The fee is a rounding error against a $400,000 investment; the royalty is what compounds.
Two brands price their build-out into a different league. Panera Bread and Jason’s Deli both start above $1.2 million. Neither is a sub shop in any operational sense, and both should be underwritten as full restaurant investments.
This is where the category separates. Fourteen of the 23 brands disclose usable revenue figures. Ranked by median unit volume:
| Brand | Median unit volume | Average | Units in sample | Share at or above average |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Panera Bread | not disclosed | $2,541,217 | 1,073 franchisee-owned | 45.0% |
| McAlister’s Deli | $1,764,584 | $1,868,219 | 477 traditional | 44% |
| Jersey Mike’s | $1,305,850 | $1,367,578 | 2,606 traditional | 44% |
| Potbelly | $1,195,243 | $1,344,085 | 97 | not disclosed |
| Schlotzsky’s | $1,084,731 | $1,157,190 | 201 drive-thru | 44% |
| Firehouse Subs | $986,432 | $1,035,521 | 704 | not disclosed |
| Jimmy John’s | $955,639 | $1,007,437 | 2,581 | 48.0% |
| PrimoHoagies | $871,099 | $927,299 | 81 | not disclosed |
| Cousins Subs | $831,786 | not disclosed | 29 traditional | not disclosed |
| Capriotti’s (2025 FDD) | $803,670 | $835,358 | 120 | not disclosed |
| Mr. Goodcents | $798,955 | not disclosed | 49 | not disclosed |
| Penn Station | $779,031 | $819,903 | 317 | 43.53% |
| Charleys Philly Steaks | $743,169 | $845,372 | 713 | 41.23% |
| Quiznos (2025 FDD) | $368,576 | $393,944 | 95 | not disclosed |
| Subway | none disclosed | none disclosed | none | Subway makes no Item 19 |
Source: Item 19 of each brand’s current FDD. Newk’s Eatery’s disclosed $2,189,167 average covers company-owned restaurants, not franchised units, so it is excluded from this ranking. Jason’s Deli, Togo’s, Which Wich, Lee’s Sandwiches, Earl of Sandwich, Deli Delicious, and Steak Escape publish no usable franchised revenue figures in our current extraction.
Look at the last column. At Jersey Mike’s, McAlister’s, and Schlotzsky’s, only 44% of units reached the average. At Charleys, 41.23%. At Penn Station, 43.53%. Panera’s franchisee-owned average was reached by 45.0% of cafes.
That pattern is not an accident. When fewer than half the units clear the mean, the distribution has a long right tail: a small number of very high performers pull the average above what a typical operator earns. This is why the median column matters more than the average column, and why the gap between average and median Item 19 figures is the first thing to check in any disclosure.
The spread inside a single brand is wider still. Jimmy John’s discloses a range of $159,965 to $3,046,579 across 2,581 restaurants. Jersey Mike’s runs $512,332 to $3,228,616. McAlister’s runs $635,548 to $4,932,405. Panera’s franchisee-owned cafes run $463,536 to $5,876,372. In every one of those systems, the bottom unit earns less than a fifth of the top unit, doing the same job with the same brand.
Charleys Philly Steaks is the clearest example in the category of why “average unit volume” is a near-useless number without a location type attached. Its 2026 Item 19 breaks 713 franchised restaurants out by real estate:
| Charleys format | Average gross sales | Median | Units |
|---|---|---|---|
| Airport | $1,300,879 | $1,271,990 | 3 |
| Mall food court | $1,011,314 | $947,967 | 310 |
| Strip center | $803,888 | $691,658 | 194 |
| Military base | $664,875 | $599,993 | 65 |
| Walmart | $611,127 | $581,548 | 141 |
| All restaurants | $845,372 | $743,169 | 713 |
Source: Charleys Philly Steaks 2026 FDD, Item 19, calendar year 2025.
A mall food court Charleys and a Walmart Charleys are separated by $400,000 in annual sales. Signing the brand and then finding a site is backwards.
Vetting a specific sandwich brand? Our $49 FDD analysis parses the Item 19 distribution, fee footnotes, litigation history, and closure math into a buyer verdict for your capital and market. See a sample report or compare the whole category on live FDD data.
Revenue tells you what the survivors earn. Item 20 tells you how many did not survive. Closures below are terminations plus non-renewals plus outlets that ceased operations for other reasons, excluding outlets the franchisor reacquired.
| Brand | Units at start | Opened | Closed | Annual closure rate | Net change |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jason’s Deli | 73 | 0 | 0 | 0.00% | 0 |
| Jersey Mike’s (FY2024) | 2,647 | 319 | 5 | 0.19% | +308 |
| Penn Station | 321 | 4 | 4 | 1.25% | 0 |
| Jimmy John’s | 2,647 | 123 | 33 | 1.25% | +90 |
| Potbelly | 102 | 22 | 2 | 1.96% | +20 |
| McAlister’s Deli | 524 | 25 | 11 | 2.10% | +9 |
| Firehouse Subs | 1,206 | 73 | 30 | 2.49% | +43 |
| Panera Bread | 1,105 | 33 | 32 | 2.90% | +1 |
| Newk’s Eatery | 66 | 5 | 2 | 3.03% | +3 |
| Charleys Philly Steaks | 744 | 45 | 23 | 3.09% | +22 |
| PrimoHoagies | 112 | 11 | 4 | 3.57% | +2 |
| Subway | 19,502 | 499 | 1,076 | 5.52% | -729 |
| Cousins Subs | 36 | 0 | 2 | 5.56% | -2 |
| Schlotzsky’s | 280 | 4 | 17 | 6.07% | -13 |
| Quiznos (FY2024) | 154 | 7 | 11 | 7.14% | -3 |
| Mr. Goodcents | 65 | 2 | 5 | 7.69% | -3 |
| Earl of Sandwich (FY2024) | 29 | 0 | 3 | 10.34% | -3 |
| Capriotti’s (FY2024) | 143 | 14 | 16 | 11.19% | -5 |
| Steak Escape (FY2024) | 23 | 1 | 5 | 21.74% | -4 |
| Which Wich (FY2024) | 187 | 5 | 42 | 22.46% | -37 |
Source: Item 20, Table 3 of each brand’s current FDD. Fiscal 2025 unless noted. Jersey Mike’s fiscal 2025 totals row does not parse cleanly in our extraction, so its fiscal 2024 row is shown; its franchised outlet count at 2025 year end was 3,201. Quiznos’ totals row is off by one outlet. Subway’s is off by four.
For context, the median franchise system across all industries closed 4.7% of its franchised units in its most recent fiscal year, and food and beverage systems ran a 3.8% median. See our franchise failure rate analysis for the full distribution across 858 reconciled FDDs.
Eleven of the 20 sandwich brands above sit at or better than that 3.8% food-service median. Nine ended the year smaller than they started.
The three brands to scrutinize hardest. Which Wich closed 42 of 187 franchised units in one year against 5 openings. Steak Escape closed 5 of 23. Capriotti’s closed 16 against 14 openings, meaning its system shrank in a year it was actively selling franchises. All three are still marketed as growth opportunities. The Item 20 tables say otherwise.
Cousins Subs opened zero franchised shops in all three fiscal years its FDD discloses, going 48 to 41 to 36 to 34. That is not a slowdown, it is a stop. A regional brand with real customer loyalty can still be a fine business to buy into; a system that has sold no new units across three disclosed years is telling you the franchisor is not finding buyers who pencil the numbers.
Jersey Mike’s is the outlier in the other direction. Opening 319 franchised restaurants in a single year while closing 5 is the strongest Item 20 profile in the category by a wide margin.
Subway generates more search volume than every other brand on this page combined, so it deserves a direct answer.
The 2026 FDD discloses:
The counterargument is real: a $263,000 traditional build-out is well under Jersey Mike’s or Panera, brand recognition is total, and a system this large has thousands of resale opportunities where you can inspect actual books instead of relying on Item 19. Our fuller treatment is in Subway franchise pros and cons and why Subway’s missing Item 19 matters.
But the framing has to be honest. Buying a Subway in 2026 means buying into a contracting system with no published unit economics, at the highest fee load in the category. That can still be the right deal at the right price for the right site. It is not the default choice it was a decade ago.
Every brand above discloses revenue. One discloses costs.
Penn Station East Coast Subs publishes a full Unit Financial Data Document in Item 19, covering all 317 franchised restaurants open for the whole of calendar 2025. It reports high, low, average, and median for net sales, every major cost line, operating income, and EBITDA:
| Line | Average | Median | Highest | Lowest |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net sales | $819,903 | $779,031 | $1,882,862 | $273,520 |
| Food and paper | $197,024 | $185,352 | $457,445 | $72,712 |
| Wages | $162,887 | $151,992 | $477,585 | $68,247 |
| Rent | $50,364 | $48,790 | $107,835 | $19,940 |
| Royalty | $60,975 | $61,526 | $150,499 | $475 |
| Delivery | $40,337 | $37,036 | $164,659 | $288 |
| Operating income | $173,674 | $152,133 | $590,414 | ($23,600) |
| EBITDA | $101,722 | $81,181 | $486,408 | ($83,083) |
Source: Penn Station, Inc. 2026 FDD, Item 19, all 317 franchisee units open all of calendar 2025. EBITDA is after a general manager’s salary, payroll tax, and health insurance.
Read the bottom row carefully. The median Penn Station franchisee cleared $81,181 in EBITDA on $779,031 in net sales, about 10.4%, before debt service on a $440,600 to $833,200 investment. The best unit cleared $486,408. The worst lost $83,083.
That single table is worth more than every “sandwich franchises are profitable” claim on the internet, because it is the only one in the category with a franchisor’s name and a state filing behind it. When you evaluate any other brand here, the honest move is to take its disclosed revenue and apply cost ratios in this shape, then check what survives.
Under $250,000. Charleys Philly Steaks from $203,492 and Quiznos from $213,900 are the realistic large-system entries; Jimmy John’s non-traditional opens at $206,200. Charleys grew by 22 franchised units in fiscal 2025 and discloses format-level revenue, which is rare at this price. Verify the site type before you sign, because a Walmart Charleys and a mall Charleys are different businesses. If you are working the whole food category at this level, see best food franchises under $250K.
$250,000 to $450,000. Jimmy John’s at $366,200 traditional, PrimoHoagies at $366,240, Mr. Goodcents at $311,139, and Firehouse Subs at $405,350 inline. Jimmy John’s has the largest disclosed sample in this band by far (2,581 restaurants at a $955,639 median), Firehouse the higher median at $986,432 on 704 restaurants, and PrimoHoagies the smallest but tightest disclosure at $871,099 across all 81 franchised locations.
$450,000 to $900,000. Jersey Mike’s opens at $436,176 and is the strongest overall profile in the category on revenue, growth, and closures. Penn Station at $440,600 gives you the most complete financial disclosure of any brand here. Potbelly at $628,938 posts a $1,195,243 median on a small but growing 122-unit franchised base. Schlotzsky’s at $675,365 posts a strong $1,084,731 median but closed 17 units against 4 openings, so ask what changed.
$900,000 and up. McAlister’s Deli at $910,175 endcap or $1,282,525 freestanding delivers the highest disclosed median in the sub-adjacent group at $1,764,584, with a 2.10% closure rate and a growing system. Panera Bread at $1,223,702 to $4,619,880 has the highest sales per unit in the category at a $2,541,217 franchisee average, but new franchise availability is limited and most operators are large multi-unit groups. Jason’s Deli at $1,706,691 has not opened a franchised unit in its most recent disclosed year.
Brand-specific analysis: Subway vs Jersey Mike’s vs Jimmy John’s, Jersey Mike’s vs Firehouse Subs, is Jersey Mike’s a good franchise, Jersey Mike’s franchise cost, and the Jersey Mike’s Item 19 deep dive.
Category comparisons: food franchise investment guide, best food franchises under $250K, and the franchise industry statistics report for cross-category medians.
Live data: the AUV leaderboard ranks disclosed unit volumes across every brand in our library, the closure rate report ranks Item 20 turnover, and the Item 19 transparency leaderboard shows which franchisors disclose real numbers at all.
If you can fund $436,176 and up, Jersey Mike’s has the best combination of disclosed revenue, unit growth, and closure rate of any sub franchise filing in 2026. The 6.5% royalty is the price of that.
Buyers whose capital tops out near $400,000 should look at Jimmy John’s and Firehouse Subs, which both disclose medians near $1 million on entry costs starting at $366,200 and $405,350, and both grew their franchised counts last year.
Want to see actual unit-level costs before committing? Penn Station is the only brand in the category that shows them, down to a $81,181 median EBITDA.
If you want the highest sales per unit and have $1 million or more, McAlister’s Deli at a $1,764,584 median or Panera Bread at a $2,541,217 franchisee average are the two brands that clear it.
And whatever the brand, remember what the Item 20 tables in this category say collectively: nine of these twenty systems ended their most recent fiscal year smaller than they started it. The FDD tells you which nine before you sign anything.
Get the full 12-section FDD analysis — $49
Real franchise data, real Item 19 numbers, personalized to your capital and location. Comparing 2–3 brands? The 3-pack is $99.
Browse franchises · pick your brand Or see a real sample report →
The only franchise report written entirely for the buyer. 12 sections covering financial risks, legal obligations, and a personalized recommendation.
Browse Franchise Library See a real sample report →
$49 per brand · $99 for a 3-brand pack
sandwich franchisesbest sandwich franchises 2026best sub franchisesub shop franchise opportunitiesjersey mikes franchisejimmy johns franchise costfirehouse subs franchisesubway franchisemcalisters deli franchisecapriottis franchisepotbelly franchise
About this analysis The franchise data in this article is drawn from VetMyFranchise's structured analysis of 2,300+ Franchise Disclosure Documents filed with U.S. state regulators. See our data & methodology.
On disclosed numbers, Jersey Mike's. Its 2026 FDD reports a $1,305,850 median unit volume across 2,606 traditional franchised restaurants, a 0.19% annual closure rate, and franchised outlet growth from 2,647 to 3,201 over two fiscal years. The trade-off is capital and royalty: $436,176 to $1,162,228 to open and 6.5% of gross receipts, both higher than Jimmy John's or Firehouse Subs.
Jimmy John's and Firehouse Subs are the most accessible of the large sub systems. Jimmy John's opens at $366,200 for a traditional location or $206,200 for a non-traditional one, with a $955,639 median unit volume. Firehouse Subs opens at $405,350 for an inline build with a $20,000 franchise fee and a $986,432 median. Both grew their franchised counts in fiscal 2025 and both closed under 2.5% of units.
By Item 7 low end, Deli Delicious starts at $122,800 and Capriotti's at $145,000, though Capriotti's closed 11.19% of its franchised units in fiscal 2024. Among larger systems, Charleys Philly Steaks starts at $203,492, Quiznos at $213,900, and Jimmy John's non-traditional format at $206,200. Low entry cost and low closure risk are different questions, so check Item 20 before you shortlist on price.
Panera Bread, at $2,541,217 average net sales across 1,073 franchisee-owned bakery-cafes, but it requires $1,223,702 to $4,619,880 to open. Among sub and deli formats, McAlister's Deli leads at a $1,764,584 median, then Jersey Mike's at $1,305,850, Potbelly at $1,195,243, and Schlotzsky's at $1,084,731. Quiznos sits at the bottom of the disclosed range at $368,576.
The 2026 FDD makes that hard to argue on data. Subway discloses no Item 19 financial performance representation at all, so there is no revenue figure to underwrite against. Its Item 20 tables show franchised outlets falling from 20,576 to 20,133 to 19,502 to 18,773 across three fiscal years, with zero company-owned outlets, and 1,076 franchised units closed in fiscal 2025. The 8% royalty plus 4.5% advertising is also the highest fee load in the category.
Jersey Mike's discloses a higher median unit volume ($1,305,850 versus $955,639), a lower closure rate, and faster unit growth. Jimmy John's is cheaper to enter ($366,200 versus $436,176 at the low end) and charges 6% royalty against Jersey Mike's 6.5% of gross receipts, but its $35,000 franchise fee is $15,000 higher. If you have the capital, the revenue gap favors Jersey Mike's; if capital is the binding constraint, Jimmy John's non-traditional format opens at $206,200.
Only one brand in the category publishes enough to answer that directly. Penn Station's 2026 Item 19 reports, across 317 franchised units open all of 2025, a $779,031 median net sales figure, $152,133 median operating income, and $81,181 median EBITDA after a general manager's salary. The weakest unit in that set posted negative $83,083 EBITDA. Every other brand discloses revenue only, so you have to model costs yourself.
Six percent is the category norm. Subway charges 8% plus a 4.5% advertising fee, the highest total in the group. Jersey Mike's charges 6.5% of gross receipts. Panera, McAlister's, Newk's, Togo's, and Quiznos charge 5%, Jason's Deli charges 4%, and Penn Station uses a tiered scale from 2% to 8% based on monthly net sales. Always add the advertising fund, which runs another 1% to 5%.
Nine of the twenty systems with usable Item 20 tables ended their most recent fiscal year smaller: Subway (-729 franchised outlets), Which Wich (-37), Schlotzsky's (-13), Capriotti's (-5), Steak Escape (-4), Quiznos (-3), Mr. Goodcents (-3), Earl of Sandwich (-3), and Cousins Subs (-2, with zero openings in all three disclosed years). Growing systems in the same window include Jersey Mike's, Jimmy John's, Firehouse Subs, Potbelly, Charleys, McAlister's, Newk's, and PrimoHoagies.
Our library holds current FDDs for 23 sandwich, sub, deli, cheesesteak, and bakery-cafe franchisors, spanning 18,773 franchised outlets at Subway down to 19 at Steak Escape. You can filter and sort the full set by investment, royalty, and Item 19 availability on our sandwich and sub franchise page.
Generally yes, because cold-sub formats need no hood, fryer, or grill line. That shows up in Item 7: Charleys Philly Steaks opens from $203,492 and Jimmy John's non-traditional from $206,200, against $1,223,702 for Panera Bread and $1,706,691 for Jason's Deli. Hot-sub and deli formats with drive-thrus land in between, with Firehouse Subs running $767,950 to $1,577,750 for a free-standing drive-thru build.
Between $122,800 and $4,619,880 across the 23 brands with current FDDs, though the realistic sub-shop band is far tighter than that. Charleys Philly Steaks opens from $203,492, Jimmy John's non-traditional from $206,200, Quiznos from $213,900, Jimmy John's traditional from $366,200, and Jersey Mike's from $436,176. The figures above $1.2 million belong to Panera Bread and Jason's Deli, which are full restaurants rather than sub shops and should be underwritten that way.
It depends entirely on which one, and Item 20 is the fastest filter. Nine of the twenty sandwich franchises with usable unit tables ended their most recent fiscal year smaller than they started it, led by Subway at -729 franchised outlets and Which Wich at -37. The systems that grew, led by Jersey Mike's adding 308 franchised restaurants in a year with five closures, are a structurally different proposition. Treat the category label as meaningless and the individual Item 20 table as decisive.
Jersey Mike's, by a wide margin. Its franchised outlet count went from 2,647 at the end of fiscal 2023 to 2,955, then to 3,201 at the end of fiscal 2025, adding 554 restaurants in two years. Firehouse Subs added 43 franchised units, Charleys Philly Steaks 22, Potbelly 20, and McAlister's Deli 9 in their most recent disclosed years. No other sandwich franchise in the group added more than 50.
This page is part of VetMyFranchise. View all pages: llms.txt · llms-full.txt